Getting to Know: Madison Keys

Getting to Know: Madison Keys

Residence: Boca Raton, FL
Date of Birth: February 17, 1995
Birthplace: Rock Island, IL
Height: 5’10”
Plays: Right-handed (two-handed backhand)
Pro since 2009

Madison Keys is a force to be reckoned with. Earlier this year the now 20-year-old made her first-ever Grand Slam semifinal with a historic run at the Australian Open, defeating Venus Williams along the way and losing a tight match to eventual champion Serena. We caught up with the Illinois native, who’s now coached by Lindsay Davenport.

Volvo Car Open: You’re coming back to Charleston for the third consecutive year. What do you like about the event? What makes it different from the other WTA stops?
Madison Keys: The atmosphere is really nice here. There is such a sense of community in this town and they really appreciate tennis and enjoy the tournament. It feels great to play in front of those fans.

Cup: You’ve been working with Lindsay Davenport for a few months now. What has been the best part of that relationship?
Keys: Working with Lindsay has been a great experience. We get along so well and it’s great to have her point of view on what I need to do and change in order to get better. Her and her family’s support system has been very important to me getting better.

Cup: You made your first-ever major semifinal in Australia. What was the best part of that run? Is there one last memory that sticks with you?
Keys: The whole thing was incredible. The atmosphere of [Rod Laver Arena] is something I will never forget. It will stay with me for a long time.

Cup: OK… We hear you’re a pretty solid baker! What’s your favorite thing to make?
Keys: Yes, I’m quite good in the kitchen [laughs]. My go-to dessert is chocolate chip cheesecake Oreo cookie.

Cup: Um, that sounds delicious! Say you’re going out for a fancy night with the girls, what’s your go-to outfit? Shoes? Accessories? Break it down for us.
Keys: I am starting to enjoy dressing up a lot more. Right now I am in love with BCBG and all of the incredible dresses they make.

Cup: You just turned 20 a couple of months ago. What’s your most lasting memory from your teens? What are two things you want to do in your 20s?
Keys: My goal each and every day is to become the best tennis player I can possibly be. That goal has been with me through my tennis and it will not change any time soon.

Coolest place you’ve been to in the world? Rome. Love the old buildings and all the history. 
Your dream dinner out entails _________? Southern food, sweet tea and then some ice cream. 
Beach or pool? Beach.
Tennis sneakers or getting glammed up? I like getting glammed up, but there’s nothing better than getting home and putting sweats on.
Your favorite guilty pleasure is __________? Dr. Pepper!